Honey, am I as fat as this guy?

Honestly, how many of you ask this when you are sitting on the beach with your significant other? You are not all that confident with how it is all hanging and you need a barometer for what your body looks like out there. Yeh, right, we are too old for this behavior and way to secure. 

Or not.

So, someone is walking down the beach and you pull the headphones out of your mate’s ears and ask them if the guy/girl walking down the beach is fatter then you. We do this all the time. When will we grow out of body image obsessions? Oh right, when we are dead!

Back to the story. There I am, innocently reading my book on a beautiful Rhode Island beach on the most glorious day and I look up to see this rather large man looking out at the ocean. Now don’t think of this as mean, I for one can stand to lose a few myself. But I could not help but pull out my camera to capture his silhouette against the backdrop of the sea and sky. It was so perfect. The shapes, the color, the water, the foam of the waves…

and then who comes up right next to him and poses? Gary, of course. (no disrespect to this man, but he did kind of set himself up in front of my camera).

I love the scale in this image – and the matching color scheme of the bathing suits. Looks kind of like a fashion layout, doesn’t it?

Oh Gary, no worries, you are one svelte man for sure!

How could you not love a man that not only tolerates the fact that you are photographing everything in sight, but embraces your snap happy behavior and poses for you? It seems that he has begun to embrace the spirit of blogging.

Either that or it is just another survival technique for living with his resident lunatic.

add to del.icio.us : Add to Blinkslist : add to furl : Digg it : add to ma.gnolia : Stumble It! : add to simpy : seed the vine : : : TailRank : post to facebook

21 Comments

Filed under fashion, humor, travel, vacation, weight

21 responses to “Honey, am I as fat as this guy?

  1. Liz

    Amy – Love the fact that Gary is so supportive of your craziness! This image (dude on left) is really striking to me for the very fact that many men inevitably end up looking as if they are with child and yet still go after the girls with the little dimpleless bums. AS IF.

  2. supportive? nah, probably just survival.

    and yes, why is it that the fat guys think they can get the cute girls? usually a money thing.

  3. Ry

    I love this. Reminds me of the antics my fella pulls on the beach. I can even get him to pretend he’s a baywatch star sometimes. Boys and the beach, there’s just something about it. Maybe it’s all the half naked women?

  4. Melissa Plotsky

    Gary’s looking good!!

  5. Funny. I always love this about men. They don’t care what they look like, it’s hot so the shirt’s coming off. (Except my husband.)

  6. ALF

    I often wonder if people own mirrors.

    Found your site from dooce – just wanted to say hi.

  7. Gary certainly does have a sense of humor, that is for sure. Let’s hear it for the Enlightened Man! I love it!

  8. Gary looks great!
    And nice that he plays along 🙂

  9. CC

    FANTASTIC!

    By the way, I love Gary’s hair 🙂

  10. well, THAT certainly eased the pain for him of having to deal with this blogging/photography jones i have going.

  11. Pingback: Pink Flamingos « i could cry but i don’t have time

  12. Pingback: Baby You Can Drive My Car « i could cry but i don’t have time

  13. Pingback: If you Give a House a Cookie… « i could cry but i don’t have time

  14. Pingback: Obama covered with tampons?! « i could cry but i don’t have time

  15. Pingback: Does this gum make my ass look big? « i could cry but i don’t have time

  16. Pingback: Would your man wear a mirdle? « i could cry but i don’t have time

  17. Pingback: Top Ten Search Terms (vol. 7) « i could cry but i don’t have time

  18. Pingback: Will you marry me? (Jordan Feil proposes to Heather Goodman in the NYT!) « i could cry but i don’t have time

  19. Pingback: Top Ten Search Terms (Vol. 10) « i could cry but i don’t have time

  20. Pingback: More than half my life « i could cry but i don't have time

  21. Pingback: Crazy People | i could cry but i don't have time

Leave a comment